Skip to content

Why I Love My Weave-It

August 3, 2011

It’s only four inches across, and it weaves teensy-tiny little squares, but I’m enchanted by my Weave-It, which I found on eBay. I had one of these as a child, and I remember how much I enjoyed weaving little squares, imagining them as tiny bedspreads for grasshoppers. When I weave on my eBay Weave-It, I experience a kind of dual enjoyment: half based in the present moment, and half nostalgic. It’s fun; it’s easy; it’s mindlessly enjoyable as a rhythmic occupation for my hands.

These little pin looms are experiencing a big resurgence and a Google search will turn up pages and pages of results. But be sure to visit the headquarters of all pin loom knowledge, http://www.eloomanation.com/. Visit eBay to look at the many vintage offerings (mine came in the original box, with the original instructions, and cost about $20 with the shipping). Or make your own (see http://www.rogersstark.com/wool/weave/weave.htm).

My Weave-It scarf is made from a silk/wool blend.

The Weave-It is infinitely portable; I can work on the squares in my free time; and it’s a great way to use up small amounts of yarn leftovers. Each square weaves in about fifteen minutes and uses a length of yarn approximately seven yards long. Last fall I assembled a gorgeous scarf out of Weave-It squares joined together with crocheting. The colors and textures worked out very well and pleased me.

When I was a child it seemed as if all middle aged women made afghans; it seemed part and parcel of getting old and wise and having clever fingers. Now that I have attained that age myself (without necessarily having gained much additional wisdom, I’m afraid), it seems obligatory to begin working on my first afghan. And why not use the Weave-It to make the colored squares? I’m somewhere in the middle of the projected three hundred or so squares that will be necessary to complete the project.

Weave on!

 

[Addendum: Be sure to read the second part of this blog post at https://housesandbooks.wordpress.com/2012/04/30/1260/ for more photos.]

From → fiber arts

2 Comments
  1. I had one of these as a kid too! I made enough pot holders to drive my mother crazy. I’ve never tried it with yarn though. The kit had these little loops made of a panty-hose type material that were a pain to work with.

  2. Those potholder looms are actually completely different, with thick pegs that hold the loops in place. Pin-looms like the Weave-it utilize a single piece of yarn that is wrapped around the pins in a serpentine manner for three different passes (up-and-down, then side-to-side, then up-and-down once more), then you weave the remaining yarn with a needle on the final pass. Check out Eloomination’s web site, it’s got fabulous vintage photos showing lovely garments you can make from all these little squares sewn together!

Leave a Reply

